Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cookies

April 8, 2010

These are an amazing 1 point per cookie (if you are using the Weight Watcher’s points system).  If you don’t care about points…well, these are healthy for you even if they ARE cookies…and yummy, too!

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

3 TBS Stick Margarine

2 TBS Reduced Fat Creamy Peanut Butter

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1 large egg white

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 sprays cooking spray (confession time, I don’t use cooking spray, I use oil to grease the pans, but VERY LITTLE)

Tools:

Baking sheet

2 bowls

1 wire whisk (you can eliminate this if you are lucky enough to have an electric mixer…I dream one day…I just dream BIG and have to save my pennies…plus it’s a great workout to mix it by hand!)

1 skillet (optional)

1 melon baller

Measuring spoons and cups

Procedure:

If you want a flavor boost, melt the margarine in a skillet and, just as it’s about to brown, take off and put it into the freezer for 20 minutes until it solidifies again.  (It really develops a great flavor)

While the butter is in the freezer…

Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl…set aside

Put Peanut Butter in a large bowl…all alone, by itself waiting for the butter

Realize that you have to wait a bit for the butter to solidify and determine to get the next steps ready…

In a small dish, put the egg white and vanilla (since these will be added at the same time.

In another small bowl, mix the brown and white sugars.

Wait around and then…

Preheat oven to 350

Combine the butter and peanut butter until smooth

Add the sugars and again beat…it said until smooth, but no matter how much hand beating I did, I couldn’t get it smooth, all I got was this:

Once I gave up there, add egg white and vanilla and beat until smooth

Add the flour a little at a time.

What I learned here was that it’s easier to use your hand once it begins to thicken a bit.  It’s easier to knead the dough rather than beat with a whisk.

This is where the recipe I was using and I disagree.  The recipe wants you to put the dough in plastic wrap and roll into a long tube shape and twist closed.  It then wants you to freeze for 2 hours.

Seriously?  All that work and you want me to wait ANOTHER 2 HOURS!!!  Not a chance!  Plus, then they want you to slice it into thin cookies.  Personally, I am firmly on the peanut-butter-cookies-with-cross-hatches-on-top camp.  It’s not a peanut butter cookie without the cross hatches on them…I don’t care what they taste like.

So, if you’re in camp with me, take your baking sheets and lightly grease with the oil or cooking spray.  Take your melon baller and scoop out 24 cookies (it made EXACTLY 24 cookie balls for me).

Make the cross hatches with a fork.  If you need, dip the fork in flour to avoid stickiness; however, I found that this recipe didn’t stick much and I didn’t need to use flour.

Back for 8-10 minutes

Take out the cookies and put on a rack to cool.

Enjoy their yumminess!

My Comments:

This recipe was very easy (once I melted the butter and got everything straight).  It was a bit crumbly dough to work with; but I don’t know if that was because of not using a mixer.  It was easy to work with.  Like I mentioned, the recipe calls to freeze the dough.  I can’t imagine why you would need to do this and I skipped this step and everything worked out fine.

My husband likes the cookies and he doesn’t even notice that they are Weight Watcher’s recipe…always a plus!

I have a question: are you in the peanut-butter-cookies-with-cross-hatches camp?  Or do you like your peanut butter cookies smooth?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

