Skip to content

Breakfast Biscuits

April 11, 2010
digg_url = “http://theheadlesscook.blogspot.com/2010/04/breakfast-biscuits.html”;digg_title = “Breakfast Biscuits”;digg_bgcolor = “#FFFFFF”;digg_skin = “normal”;digg_url = undefined;digg_title = undefined;digg_bgcolor = undefined;digg_skin = undefined;

This is a family favorite of my husband’s side with some healthy option made to it. 

Yields: 6 servings or one biscuit per serving

Weight Watchers Points: 7

Ingredients:

Oil

3 egg whites

1 egg

Splash of milk

butter

1 tube Grands biscuits (or like product)

1/4-1/2 cup shredded cheese

Tools:

9 inch skillet

baking sheet

whisk

small bowl

egg separator (optional, I prefer the hand method)

Spatula

Butter knife

Instructions:

Follow the instructions on the biscuit package to bake the biscuits.  Grands are to preheat over to 350 and bake for 14 minutes.

Once the biscuits are going, preheat your skillet over medium-low heat.  I use Capholon pans and so preheating is a must or else the eggs stick.

   While the skillet is heating up, separate the egg whites.  If you use the egg separator it looks like this: Once get the three egg whites into the bowl, add your large egg.  You can see one of my eggs that was separating some yolk snuck in…that’s okay.  Really you are using the egg whites only to make it a healthier option.  Trace of egg yolk isn’t going to make much difference.

If you want to leave the whole egg out and use one more egg white that will work, for me I like the one whole egg for the texture of the eggs.  Plus, my husband doesn’t like egg whites only.

Then add a splash of milk:

And whisk away:

   Make sure the eggs are well blended and add some oil to the hot pan.  I eyeball it but usually about 1-2tsp.

Make sure the oil gets hot and even around the pan then add the egg mixture:

If you heated it right, the egg will cook as it hits the pan and then you can flip up the edges to run more egg underneath:

Don’t stress if you don’t heat the pan enough; I often don’t.  Just keep pulling the sides slowly and fill in with the uncooked egg.  Once it’s solid enough, flip the entire thing over:

I don’t know what I was doing right today, but it worked perfectly.  Often times I have a mess of egg that I’ve flipped over.  It doesn’t have to look this pretty…no one will know.

Then sprinkle the cheese over the top.  Again, I eyeball the amount of cheese and try to go on the lighter side.

The biscuits should almost be done, at this time I like to add the pan into the oven just to melt the cheese nicely and to keep the eggs warm.

When the biscuits are done, take everything out of the oven:

Cut the biscuits in half…careful, they are HOT!  I often burn my fingertips.  I’ve tried using a paper towel to help hold them, but I find myself just opting to burn my fingers…go figure!

Add just a touch of butter to each one.  They don’t need much because there is butter in the dough, but just a tiny touch is nice.  You don’t even have to spread it much, just close it up and let the heat of the biscuit melt it into the dough:

After that, cut the egg into 6 sections…yes, there will be two left over biscuits.  You could cut it into 8, but I find 6 works best for us:

Take each section of egg and place inside the biscuit and ENJOY!

If you are my husband, you never walk away with out 3…I can limit myself to just one

If you want, you can also add bacon or sausage on top of the egg as well.  Or really anything you would like.

My Comments:

This is an absolute favorite of my husbands.  His dad always made these and they make really good leftovers as well.  I make them much healthier and he still likes them.  I cut out all but one of the whole eggs and I don’t put as much cheese on top.  This is definitely a family favorite.

My MIL will actually use sliced cheese on the sandwiches rather than shredded cheese and melting it.  I like the shredded cheese much better.

Funny thing is the other day I saw a commercial for Grands biscuits and saw these advertised on them.  I’d just like it known that we have been using this recipe for much longer than that!

Do you make breakfast sandwiches?

Stay tuned for later.  Upcoming recipes will be a Pork and Onion, Lemon Cookies, and homemade refried beans!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 11:25 am

    Hi! My kids love these also, but my eggs don’t look s nice because I’m too scared to flip them over.

  2. April 17, 2010 3:26 pm

    I’ve learned the temperature has to be “just right” to get it perfect. Also, my best bet now with these pans that can go straight in the oven is to just preheat the oven, heat the pan, put a little oil down, drop the eggs in, then slide it right into the oven. They cook perfect every time!

    I also do a really funky gravity/inertia kind of toss thing. I’ll have to get it on video one day to show everyone. It works for me!

Leave a Reply

