Skip to content

What I Use

April 12, 2010

Pots

For Christmas this year my mom bought us (oh who am I kidding, they’re for me) a set of Calphalon pots and pans.  I was excited!

Then my husband told me I couldn’t unpack them until we moved…I hate when he makes sense, but I was itching to start using them.  Thankfully we moved in February.

I took the pots and pans out, carefully put them away, and quickly anticipated the first thing I would make…I made pasta.  Sure, it’s simple, but remember we were in mid-move. 

The next morning, I decided to fry an egg…I was very disappointed.  The egg completely stuck to the bottom of the pan and I was crestfallen.  I knew I had adjustments to make.  I finally had some quality pots and pans to cook on and figured that had something to do with it.

I also have always cooked on gas stoves and this was an electric.  I knew there would be an adjustment to that as well.  Personally, I prefer gas, but our new place has an electric…I love our new place…I’ll adjust to electric.

But what was wrong with my pans that I can’t even fry an egg?

 

  

The next morning, I again attempted an egg.  This time, scrambled.  This time, I tried to add a touch of oil just to cut the stick down.  This time, I failed again.

The next morning I tried butter.  Then nothing again.  Then this and that and the other.  I was so distraught I looked up on line to see what I could possibly be doing wrong.

I found one sight (I wish I could remember which it was) but there was an entire discussion board dedicated to the problem of food sticking in Calphalon pots and pans.  I was so glad that I wasn’t alone!

I was even happier that there were solutions!

20100411 095

The solution really is simple: Heat the pan FIRST, then add ROOM TEMPERATURE food.

Oh, and also don’t go as hot as you typically would.  So, if you cook at a 7 or 8 on the stove top, drop down to a 5 or 6.

It really is that easy.  Occasionally I still have some food stick, but not as much.  Typically it’s when I haven’t heated the pan enough or I haven’t waited long enough for the food to come to room temp.

Here’s what I do, for example, in the morning.  I come down and immediately put the pan on the stove top and set my knob at a 5.

While that’s doing it’s thing, I crack an egg and separate the egg white (I do egg whites only for my daily breakfast) and put it in a bowl close to the stove (in my mind this helps it get warmer faster, although it probably doesn’t help at all).

Then I get the plate and other utensils ready.  Go to the bathroom (what? too much information?) and/or, if necessary, put the dishes from the dishwasher away.

Once the pan’s rim is hot to the touch, I add the oil (just a dash) and let that get warm.  THEN I add the egg white.

What I have learned with these pans is to not rush it.  I am the type of cook who likes to crank up the heat to make it cook faster.  I have learned to take a much more relaxed approach to cooking with these pots and pans.

I have also learned to love them. 

You do have to hand wash them, but that’s okay, I don’t usually use more than one at a time so it’s not too much work.  Everything else goes into the dishwasher.

So, what types of pots and pans do you use?  Do you cook on gas or electric?  Which do you prefer?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

