Skip to content

Back to the Basics with…Corn

May 6, 2010

We all have to start somewhere, right?  I figured on occasion I might just go “back to the basics”.  These segments will be how to do something that many of us might be considered “basic” cooking skills, but I know there is someone out there who doesn’t know.

I’ll start with corn.  To be honest, this is something that I never really knew how to make myself until a few years ago.  I’m talking corn on the cob, not just corn from a can…I mean, that’s just throw in a pot and heat.

Corn on the cob, however, isn’t much more difficult.

First, get a large pot and fill it with water:

20100504 072

Next, take out your corn cobs…they most likely still have their husks on them, right?  If not, skip way down. 

20100504 071  Just grab at the top there and pull down.  You want to make sure to get the hair from as well…as much as possible:

20100504 073

Continue around the cob:

 20100504 074 Once it’s all peeled down, snap it off at the base.  This way you’ll also snap off the rest of the stalk as well:

20100504 075 Repeat with as many cobs as you have…we do two at a time since there are two of us:

20100504 076 Now, I like the small cobs just because I find them easier to handle.  If you want the full cob, skip the next step.  If you want the small cobs, grip one cob in both hands:

20100504 077 Quickly and with force, snap it in two:

20100504 078 It’s really that easy!

Now, drop the corn into the pot of water and then turn the stove on to medium-high heat:

20100504 079 After the corn begins to boil, let it boil for about 5 minutes and then turn off the heat and cover:

20100504 091

Wait at least 10 minutes before taking out!

It really is THAT easy!

Now, I like my corn on the cob with just butter and salt and pepper.  One of the girls at work told me about putting mayonnaise and parmesan cheese on them.  I’m not sure about that but she swears it’s delicious and someone else overheard our conversation and confirmed it.  I may be brave enough some day.

Have you ever tried corn that way?  What’s your favorite way to enjoy corn on the cob?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 8:29 am

    Yes! Please! Keep doing back to the basics. And by the way, 2 of my kids LOVE mayo and parm!

  2. May 6, 2010 10:16 am

    I’m glad you like the back to the basics. I am going to have to try the mayo and parm thing…i’m hearing more and more about it.

Leave a Reply

