Skip to content

Cooking Tools – Griddle/Hot Plate/Whatever

May 14, 2010
digg_url = “http://theheadlesscook.blogspot.com/2010/05/cooking-tools-griddlehot-platewhatever.html”;digg_title = “Cooking Tools – Griddle/Hot Plate/Whatever”;digg_bgcolor = “#FFFFFF”;digg_skin = “normal”;digg_url = undefined;digg_title = undefined;digg_bgcolor = undefined;digg_skin = undefined;

Growing up, I don’t remember my mom cooking much on a griddle, if at all.  Pancakes and everything were made on the stove top in a skillet.  Same with bacon and everything else.

It wasn’t until much later that I ever saw anyone cook on one of these.  I mean, I’m a preschool teacher, we use these in the classroom for crayon melts and things like that!  But to use these in the home was a new thing for me.

However, I still registered for one when we were getting married because I thought that, possibly, I might enjoy using it…and I DO!

When we were getting married, I knew we would be living in my small one bedroom apartment.  I needed something that would be a space saver, but still do what I needed it to do. 

While registering at Target, I found the perfect griddle.  The Rival Folding Griddle:

20100514 007

Let me tell you, I LOVE this thing!  I don’t know what I would do without it.  First and foremost, it takes up MINIMAL space:

20100514 001 It literally folds in half!  It’s also easy to clean with the plates coming off in two pieces easily and dishwasher safe (as noted with the water spots):

20100514 004

It also has plenty of room!  I was a bit unsure because, seriously, how much space can something that folds in half actually have for cooking?  Well, A LOT!

20100514 006  What’s also nice and convenient is that both sides has its own temperature control.  I have often set each side on a different temp for two different things.  For example, last night I made hamburgers on one side on high heat and then toasted the buns on the other side at a lower heat.

20100514 008 The light is also nice.  Why?  Well, it let’s you know when it has reached the desired temperature!  This way I don’t have to guess if it’s hot enough.

Now, there are only two of us so I usually only need to make to burgers (oh, and it’s nice having the two sides because, potentially, I could only heat ONE side and keep the other side cool).  Last night we had friends over so I added a few more burgers:

20100514 009 As you can see, I can easily fit 4 burgers on one side.

There is also a groove that runs around the edge of each plate that leads to a hole where all the icky grease and fat run into.  Each plate cleanly goes to it’s own hole into the conveniently placed container to catch it.

20100514 010 I have never had a problem with it leaking on the inside or anything.  Even when things run down the crack in the middle, the grease is caught in the groove on the one plate and runs to the catch again.

20100514 013 What’s nice is the holes are the perfect size to allow for the grease and even the bigger pieces that break off to drain easily.  As long as it’s on an even surface, I have never had a problem with drainage and have never had to “help it along”.

20100514 014

When I am done, it’s very easy to just pop off the plates.  There’s a simple hook that holds it down tight and I just have to push it gently to get it to release:

20100514 012  Then, push the magic button to fold it up (it won’t go without pushing this button)

20100514 015 Fold it up, lock it closed:

20100514 016 Wrap the chord around the conveniently placed rack and call it a day

20100514 018  No, really, it’s that simple! 

I absolutely LOVE this griddle.  I can’t imagine what it would be like without it.  I have made pancakes, burgers, bacon, grilled cheese sandwiches, french toast, and so much more.  It’s easy to take out and put away and doesn’t take up much space at all.

I highly recommend every kitchen have a griddle and, if you’re looking for a good one, this really is worth it! 

Oh, and it’s non-stick, too and I have NEVER had a problem with it.  Often times I can easily just wipe it off with a wet paper towel.

Do you have a griddle? 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

