Skip to content

Egg Salad

May 15, 2010
digg_url = “http://theheadlesscook.blogspot.com/2010/05/egg-salad.html”;digg_title = “Egg Salad”;digg_bgcolor = “#FFFFFF”;digg_skin = “normal”;digg_url = undefined;digg_title = undefined;digg_bgcolor = undefined;digg_skin = undefined;

I LOVE egg salad.  I could probably live on it!  Well, that and artichoke, avocados, and asparagus…okay, and Jalapeno Cheddar bread…and maybe apples, oh and DEFINITELY plums…ahem, where was I?

Oh, yeah, Egg Salad.  I LOVE the stuff!

Mostly because it’s delicious, but also because it’s so easy to make.  There are lost of recipes from simple to complex.  It can be as simple as just mashing hard boiled eggs and mixing in some Mayo and Mustard and seasoning with salt and pepper.

Today, however, I’m going to show you my favorite recipe.  There are no measurements because, well, when I make it I just eyeball everything.

Tools:

Bowl

Fork

Spoon

Ingredients:

Mayonnaise (in our house it’s Miracle Whip…but not because I prefer it…nope that is completely the husband…I like Mayo better, but I’m so cheap I refuse to buy both…so Miracle Whip it is)

Dijon mustard (yes, you can use regular mustard, but why would you when you can use Dijon?)

Italian Seasoning

Lemon (if you don’t have a lemon, bottled lemon juice will work, but why wouldn’t you when you have fresh lemons when you can get a bag of them for .98 at Fresh and Easy?)

Hard Boiled Eggs (I use two per person I am preparing for.  If you want to make it a bit healthier, take out all but one of the egg yolks, but for purposes of this presentation, I used all the egg yolks…usually I only use one egg yolk)

Directions:

Now, get your Hard Boiled Eggs (you do remember how to make those, right?)  Put them into your bowl:

20100508 120Take the fork and just start mashing!  This is really good therapy if you need to get out some frustrations:

20100508 12120100508 122Once they’re good and mashed, add a spoonful of Mayonnaise.  Now this is why there are no measurements.  Sometimes you need more and sometimes you need less.  Just start on the conservative side.  Remember, you can always add more, but you can’t take it out!

20100508 123I judge by looking at how wet or dry my eggs are.  Did I JUST take them out of the water?  Or have they been out for a few days?  If they just came out of the water, then you don’t need as much.

Also add a spoonful of the Dijon mustard:

You don’t want AS MUCH as the Mayo because it can get over powering, but you want to make sure you can taste it.

20100508 124

Mash all that together and add more if you think it needs it:

20100508 125Now, take out the Italian seasoning and put a bunch on.  You want to be able to see the seasoning in the salad, don’t skimp, but don’t put so much that it’ll be too noticeable:

20100508 126Last, cut a lemon in half and squeeze in a half’s worth of lemon juice:

20100508 127Give it one last mix and, if you won’t be using it immediately, refrigerate it…OR, if you’re like me and can’t wait, go ahead and serve it up.  I could easily just eat this by the bowlful; however, for those more proper people out there, you might want to get a nice soft bread to serve it on.

SOFT BREAD is the key to a perfect egg salad sandwich!  If you made some pita bread, let me tell you…PERFECT for egg salad!  Just cut in half, open the pocket and fill it up:

20100508 148Yes, it is as good as it looks

My Comments:

This is a delicious recipe and my go-to.  My husband really likes it as well.  I think the lemon, though surprising to have in the recipe, really adds to the flavor.  It’s subtle…very subtle…but very good!

What are you waiting for?  Go try it out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 1:05 pm

    I looovvee egg salad sandwiches, but since I’m now trying to eat healthier, I think I’ll have to wait a while. But then again, I just may break down and make it 🙂

  2. May 15, 2010 1:20 pm

    Make it with egg whites only and use light mayo instead makes it much healthier. I’m on WW and still make it!

Leave a Reply

