Skip to content

Lemon Crisps

May 17, 2010

I saw this recipe a long while back on the Weight Watcher’s site.  I had been planning on making them because, well, COOKIES that have LEMON in them?  I’m there! 

I didn’t make them, however, until well after we moved.  The funny thing is that the weekend I made them ,the very next meeting, in our weekly newsletter at Weight Watchers, there was my Lemon Crisp recipe! 

Oh, just so you know, these are as good as you’re imagining!

It makes 10 servings (about 4 cookies each serving)

Points: 2 WW points per serving

Tools:

 Medium Bowl

Whisk

Spatula

Thin metal spatula

Spoon

Fine Grater

Baking Sheet

Parchment Paper (this is a MUST HAVE, don’t even attempt to try it with out this unless you have a sylicone sheet.

Measuring Spoons

Measuring Cups

Flour Sifter OR Fine Mesh Colander

Ingredients:

3 1/3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter, softened   

1/2 Cup Sugar 

2 large Egg Whites   

1/3 Cup Cake Flour   

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract   

2 tsp Lemon Zest, finely chopped   

2 tsp Lime Zest, finely chopped   

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 do NOT forget to do this…I only tell you this because I care and, well, I have done this way too often to even mention, I just know what it’s like when people forget to preheat the oven…

Place parchment paper on 2 cookie sheets this is something that is absolutely necessary.  Unless you have some of those silicone sheets, you must have the parchment paper.  Even the best non-stick will not do.  If you don’t have either of these, DO NOT attempt this recipe.  If you do, don’t say I didn’t warn you.  You are basically almost burning these to the paper…do you really want to clean that up?

Put the butter and sugar in to the bowl:

Cream butter and sugar in a medium bowl until light and fluffy it’s really not difficult if you do this by hand, but if you have a mixer, go for it.

Add egg whites and stir until just blended

Here’s the thing, I always crack my eggs into a separate dish and then dump it into whatever.  I didn’t use to.  I use to just crack that egg and put it into all the rest; I also used to make fun of my MIL for doing the separate bowl thing…then I learned my lesson.  I cracked open an egg, dumped it in, and it was too late that I had contaminated the rest of my eggs with the blood filled egg…KID YOU NOT! 

So, let that be a lesson to BOTH of us, huh?  Crack your egs into a separate dish then dump into the main.  Okay, now back to the cookies…mix in those eggs:

Sift cake flour over butter mixture and mix with a spoon

Fold in vanilla

Remove half the batter and place in a medium bowl, set aside.  Fold lemon zest into one bowl and lime zest into other bowl, or keep batter in one bowl and stir in both lemon and lime zests Nope, I didn’t separate the batter, I didn’t even add lime.  I love lemon too much.  So, I made pure lemon cookies and, yes, I added double the lemon

The secret to grating lime peels is to do so and be careful to NOT get any of the white part in.  Your lemon should look like this when done:

See how the white is still there?  The white part will make it bitter in a bad way.

Drop heaping teaspoons of batter onto prepared cookie sheets leaving at least 3 inches between each cookie

When cookie sheet is full, flatten out cookies with back of a spoon so cookies look almost translucent and measure about 3 inches across I did NOT wait until the tray was full, I thinned out EACH one as I put it down…here’s my word of advise: If you think you made them thin enough…make them a bit thinner!  No joke!  I thought they were thin enough and they were by far NOT! 

Bake until edges start to brown, about 4 to 5 minutes It actually took closer to 10 mintes each sheet but if I made them thinner, maybe.  Although, even if I did make them thin enough, I still think a little longer would be necessary.

Remove from oven and quickly transfer to a cooling rack using a thin metal spatula                        See how the edges are crispy and thin?  The thicker middle part is actually supposed to be crisper.

My Thoughts:

The next time I make these I will actually make them way thinner.  I will also bake them for longer.  Even after they cooled, they were still a bit too un-crisp as they stuck together in the cookie sheet.

They were, however, delicious!  I love lemon!

3 1/3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter, softened   

1/2 Cup Sugar 

2 large Egg Whites   

1/3 Cup Cake Flour   

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract   

2 tsp Lemon Zest, finely chopped   

2 tsp Lime Zest, finely chopped   

Preheat oven to 350

Place parchment paper on 2 cookie sheets

Cream butter and sugar in a medium bowl until light and fluffy

Add egg whites and stir until just blended

Sift cake flour over butter mixture and mix with a spoon

Fold in vanilla

Remove half the batter and place in a medium bowl, set aside.  Fold lemon zest into one bowl and lime zest into other bowl, or keep batter in one bowl and stir in both lemon and lime zests

Drop heaping teaspoons of batter onto prepared cookie sheets leaving at least 3 inches between each cookie

When cookie sheet is full, flatten out cookies with back of a spoon so cookies look almost translucent and measure about 3 inches across

Bake until edges start to brown, about 4 to 5 minutes

Remove from oven and quickly transfer to a cooling rack using a thin metal spatula

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

