Skip to content

Peanut Butter S’mores

June 3, 2010
digg_url = “http://theheadlesscook.blogspot.com/2010/06/peanut-butter-smores.html”;digg_title = “Peanut Butter S’mores”;digg_bgcolor = “#FFFFFF”;digg_skin = “normal”;digg_url = undefined;digg_title = undefined;digg_bgcolor = undefined;digg_skin = undefined;

This recipe?   To die for!  Forget the diet!  This is a special treat that should only be enjoyed on rare occasion, but it’s worth it!

It is meant for a serving of 16!  Keep that in mind when you make it!  SIXTEEN!  I wouldn’t want you to have more!

WW points?  Why yes, I did figure it out for you just in case: 5 points per serving!  Yes, it’s a lot, but again, on occasion it’s totally worth it!

Tools:

1 large bowl

1 small bowl

hand mixer (or wire whisk)

measuring cups

measuring spoons

melon baller or small spoons

fork

baking sheet

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup all-purpose Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 cup Butter, softened

1/2 cup Sugar

1/2 cup Brown Sugar, packed

1/2 cup creamy or chunky Peanut Butter

1 Egg

1 tsp Vanilla

4 Hershey’s chocolate bar OR 16 individually wrapped bite size pieces

16 large Marshmallows

Directions:

In the small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt:    Set the bowl aside…you won’t need it for a little while.  If you want to do this the easy way, just dump it all in the bowl and use a spoon or fork to mix all those things together…if you want to get crazy and fun, put all those ingredients in a sifter and sift them together…it’s just fun!  But, set it aside:

In the larger bowl, put in the butter and both sugars.  Make sure you pack the brown sugar into the measuring cup.  There IS a difference in packed vs loose brown sugar…mostly it’s the amount of sugar being used (duh, right?):

Using the mixer (oh, did I brag yet that I got a hand mixer.  My grandma loves me and gave me hers.  She doesn’t use it and she loves me, what can I say!).  Use the mixer to blend the butter and sugar together until fluffy.  If you’re not as lucky as me to have the mixer, use the whisk and your muscles.  I actually do like doing it by hand, but I had to check on the hand mixer:

Oh, it’s a good mixer, I’m just a glutton for punishment and like to do things by hand.

Okay, now add the peanut butter (you can use creamy or chunky.  In my house we only have creamy because I’m too cheap to buy two different kinds and the husband doesn’t like chunky.  Maybe if we have a kid who likes chunky we can go the other way…I may influence the choice, but I won’t tell), the egg, and the vanilla:

I considered using only an egg white instead of the whole egg, but really, a 5 point cookie?!?!  One egg isn’t going to make a big enough difference so I went full fat!

Beat all that together until well blended:

S   L   O   W   L   Y   add the flour mixture:

Here’s the deal, if you DON’T do it slowly, you’ll just end up with a huge floury mess and it’s harder to mix in:

You also end up over working the flour and all that and it’s just not good.  So, take a 1/4 cup measuring cup and just slowly add it in.  Scoop, put in, blend until you can’t see any more flour, repeat!  Do this until all the flour mixture is gone and it looks something like this:

(oh, did I tell you to preheat the oven?  No?  Yeah, ALWAYS preheat the oven!  I often forget to do that.  If you DO forget, that’s okay.  This is a dough that will be okay waiting for you to get that oven preheated).

Take out your baking sheet and scoop the dough.  I use a melon baller for this because it’s so perfect.  Every time I make cookies I use this and it is so much easier!

Drop the dough onto the cookie sheet:

Once the dough is on the baking sheet, get the fork out:

This is a pretty sticky dough so I found it much better to dip the fork into some flour before making the lines on each cookie:

Use the fork to make lines one way (squish the cookie down a bit as you do this):

Then, turn the fork 90 degrees and press down slightly again:

Repeat for all the cookies on the tray:

Place the baking sheet in the oven (why yes, the baking sheets multiplied!  I used two…okay 4, I used 4!  While these two were in the oven I got to smaller ones out and used those for the next batch.  I like to get these in and rotate trays around):

While they are in the oven, get your marshmallows and chocolate ready:

Take the cookies out of the oven after 14 minutes (that was the PERFECT amount of time) and let the cookies cool for 2 minutes (okay, I confess, I don’t time the cooling process.  I just take them out, put the other sheets in, and start taking cookies off the baking sheet):

Now, I think I’ve mentioned before that I really don’t use the oven much.  I’m not anti-microwave, I just don’t use it often.  I find I like things better off the stove or out of the oven, even if it is reheated (although breakfast that is leftovers from dinner the night before go in the microwave…that’s a whole other post).

So, I thought that MAYBE if I put the chocolate on the warm cookies and then the marshmallows on top of that possibly I wouldn’t need to use the microwave.  I put the first cookie top side DOWN so I could put the chocolate down:

I placed the marshmallow on the top and it just kept rolling everywhere…yes I even tried putting it on flat side down and that didn’t help at all:

So, let’s add another worm cookie on top (they are, after all, going to get that second cookie on top eventually anyway, should work right?):

Yeah, that didn’t work so well.  I tried the marshmallow on the warm cookie…that didn’t work.  If I had been bar-b-quing, I would have just gone out and roasted those marshmallows.

I have an electric stove so I couldn’t roast the marshmallows over the burner (although I considered trying it on the electric, but I stopped myself).

I resorted to the microwave:

See the puffy marshmallow:

Once it’s done (only 10 seconds in the microwave) place another cookie on top and press down so the marshmallow squishes out:

ENJOY!

My Comments:

Oh my goodness this is good!  Like SERIOUSLY died-and-gone-to-heaven-good!  The gooey marshmallow, the melted chocolate, the peanut butter cookies…OH! 

I went ahead and just assembled all of them, though I did restrain myself to just one.  I actually wanted to see if they would hold up in the cookie jar…they do!  The marshmallow solidifies again and they don’t get hard at all; however, I did find that the best way to enjoy them from the cookie jar is to just put them back in the microwave for 12 seconds.  Just enough to warm the cookies and puff the marshmallow.

YUM!

I made these for Memorial day and this would be a great thing to have around a fire on the beach or something.  This is definitely a SOMETIMES food, but so worth the SOMEtime.

Recipe:

1 1/2 cup all-purpose Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 cup Butter, softened

1/2 cup Sugar

1/2 cup Brown Sugar, packed

1/2 cup creamy or chunky Peanut Butter

1 Egg

1 tsp Vanilla

4 Hershey’s chocolate bar OR 16 individually wrapped bite size pieces

16 large Marshmallows

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in small bowl, set aside

Beat butter, sugar, and brown sugar in large bowl until light and fluffy

Beat in peanut butter, egg, and vanilla until well blended

Gradually beat in the flour mixture until blended

Use the melon baller to scoop out cookies and drop onto a baking sheet, place 2 inches apart (or, use small spoons to drop about 1 heaping tsp size amount onto cookie sheet)

Flatten dough with fork creating a cross hatch pattern (dip fork in flour if dough is too sticky)

Bake about 14 minutes until set and edges are light golden brown

Cool cookies on baking sheet 2 minutes then transfer to wire cooling rack

Break Hershey bar into 4 sections OR unwrap individual bars and place one on the flat side of one cookie.  Place marshmallow on chocolate.  Microwave 10-12 seconds until marshmallow is puffy. 

Immediately top with another cookie, flat side down, pressing lightly to spread the marshmallow to edges.

Repeat with remaining cookies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

