Skip to content

Home Made Tortilla Chips

June 6, 2010
digg_url = “http://theheadlesscook.blogspot.com/2010/06/home-made-tortilla-chips.html”;digg_title = “Home Made Tortilla Chips”;digg_bgcolor = “#FFFFFF”;digg_skin = “normal”;digg_url = undefined;digg_title = undefined;digg_bgcolor = undefined;digg_skin = undefined;

I have made a huge effort to stop buying pre-packaged foods.  There are some things that I can’t get away from or just won’t, but there are others than I have been very successful and have found ways to make it quick and easy (remember the bread I make, I don’t buy bread anymore.  I’m even making hot dog buns today!

One of the most simple things to make are chips.  I bake them and they taste so much better than the store bought and they really are fast and easy!  Healthier, too!  I have gotten it down to only 2 points per serving!

Serves: 8 (it’s real easy to make more, but this seems to be perfect to get us through the snack periods)

WW points: 1 per serving (equal to two corn tortillas)

Tools:

Ziplock bag or large reusable container (I’ve used recycled salad plates from subway, they work wonderfully…what can I say, I’m not “green” to save the planet, I’m “green” to save my money…but if I help out at the same time, well, then I’m okay with that)

Long knife (it’s just easier, you could use a pizza cutter as well, but the knife works perfectly)

Baking sheet (or two, depends on how big your sheet it.  I also use a pizza sheet that I like because it’s so big)

Ingredients:

16 Corn Tortillas (you can have more if you like, but this works for us)

2 tsp Olive Oil

Salt to taste

Seasoning of choice (if you just want salt, that’s fine.  This time I used garlic powder, I’ve used taco seasoning, Italian seasoning and garlic is good too; play with the flavors)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400

Stack your tortillas up and use the knife to slice right through.  Really just put the knife on top and push down, no need to slide the knife:

If you are using a pizza cutter, you may need to shorten the stack a bit otherwise it slides everywhere as you slice.

You can slice any way you choose, I like to mix it up and I use triangles and strips and mix them up. It’s a personal preference and either way works:

Then simply put all the tortilla pieces into the plastic bag or container:

Add the salt and other seasonings:

Add in the Olive Oil:

I like to just eyeball the Olive oil, you really don’t need too much.  You’d be amazed at how far a little will go.  I often only use a little more than 1 tsp.  Best way, add a bit, shake it up, add a bit more if you think it needs it.

Seal the bag and make sure there is air in the bag, you do NOT want to let all the air out, it won’t work:

This is the fun part…SHAKE IT UP!

Just keep shaking and shaking until the tortilla strips are well coated:

Place the tortilla pieces on the baking sheets in a single layer.  It’s okay if they’re a little overlapped, but you don’t want them completely covered layer after layer:

Put them in the oven ONLY WHEN the oven is completely preheated, otherwise, the cooking time will vary and this is a time that you have to already watch carefully:

Cook for about 7 minutes and then check in on them.  Because different types of tortillas are different thickness and often times even the same type of tortillas from one bag can all be different sizes timing varies.  Therefore, after about 5 minutes start peeking in:

Not ready yet:

These are perfect.  You want them just a LITTLE golden brown but not too much because they will continue to cook a bit more once you take them out:

This one is too done, you might have a few of those in a try, but it’s not inedible:

Then, serve them up and enjoy:

    My Comments:

We love chips around here.  They’re great for munching and dipping and nachos and so many other things.  The ones that are in the bag?  Not so healthy for you.  These ones?  Well at 1 point a serving how can you go wrong?  I LOVE these!

They are also very easy to make.  Often times I make them when I already have something in the oven or it’s already heated. 

Eventually I will make these from my own corn tortilla chips, I have the ingredients, I’m just waiting to finish off the last of the tortillas I have in stock already.  That may actually make these even LESS points, not sure, but I’ll let you know.

So tell me: What’s your favorite Chip Flavor?

Recipe:          

16 Corn Tortillas (you can have more if you like, but this works for us)

2 tsp Olive Oil

Salt to taste

Seasoning of choice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400

Slice tortilla into chip size pieces

Place tortilla pieces into plastic bag

Add seasonings, salt, and oil

Shake bag until all pieces are evenly coated

Spread tortillas on baking sheet in a single layer

Bake for 5-10 minutes, keep an eye on them as they will quickly burn

Let cool, then enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

