Skip to content

Homemade Hamburger/Hotdog buns

June 6, 2010
tags: ,

I got this recipe from over here at the Frugal Upstate.  They turned out beautifully and will become a staple in our pantry.  They take some time, but any yeasty bread does, and are worth the wait.

Servings:  12 for hot dog or 8 for hamburger

WW Points: 3 for hot dog bun or 5 for hamburger bun

Tools:

Bread machine

measuring cups

If you don’t have a measuring cup, you can use a bowl and mix and knead and just let it rise in the bowl

Ingredients:

 

1 1/4 C Milk

1/3 C Vegetable Oil

1/4 C Sugar

1 tsp salt

3 3/4 C Flour

2 1/4 tsp yeast (or one package)

Directions:

Real simple, measure the ingredients into your bread machine…milk:

Oil:

Sugar:

Salt:

Flour:

Yeast:

Then pop it right into the machine and put it on the dough cycle so it’s just going to knead it and let it rise:

Now, if you are not lucky enough like me to have a bread machine, that’s okay.  Just put all the ingredients into a bowl and knead it together until a soft dough is formed.  Let it rise in a warm place for an hour to and hour and a half.

Once done rising, turn it out onto the countertop:

If you are making hot dog buns, cut the dough into 12 pieces.  If you are making hamburger buns, cut the dough into 8 pieces.  Me?  I was making BOTH hamburger and hot dog, so I cut the dough in half, then cut one half into 4 pieces and the other half into 6 pieces:

I found that the best knife for me to slice dough is to use a serrated knife.  It seems to make the easiest, cleanest cut.  You can try other things, I just found that it works best for me.

Now comes the challenging part, forming the dough.  The hamburger buns I rolled into a ball then flattened and shaped pretty much the same way I form hamburger patties, tapping in the palm of my hand back and forth until I have a palm sized disc.  I made it a bit smaller knowing it would rise.

For the hot dog buns, I had NO CLUE what I was doing, so I figured rolling it like the kids roll play dough into snakes.  Place them into a pan:

What do you think?  Look good?  Okay, just put the oven onto WARM and put the baking sheet in the oven for another 45 minutes.  They will rise like this:

Next, turn the oven to 375 and bake for 15 minutes.  I wasn’t sure if I should preheat the oven to 375 or just keep them in and turn it up.  Well, I took them out and, before the oven was preheated, I noticed that the dough was beginning to fall, so I quickly put them BACK in the oven and continued to let it heat up.

My advise?  Let them stay in the oven while it heats up.  After 15 minutes it looked like this:

That’s when I took them out…careful, they are HOT!

Even though the look a little funky, I don’t think they look too bad:

Here’s a hamburger bun as well:

For the hot dog buns, take the serrated knife and begin to cut longwise from one side:

 

Be careful not to cut all the way through, you want it to hold your hot dog perfectly, so stop about 3/4 of the way in…like this: Do I need to tell you to cut the hamburger buns all the way through?

These turned out perfectly! I mean,check out that hot dog:

Oh, and I made a salmon burger for the hamburger bun:

Why yes, those ARE the home made chips we made the other day, thank you for asking!

My Comments:

These turned out pretty good.  I will definitely be using these as a staple in our pantry.  No need to buy hamburger and hot dog buns when you can make them for so cheap!  And so easy!

Yes, it does take some time, but it was most definitely worth it!  I could easily see adding things like onion or sesame seeds on these for flavoring.  Maybe even an egg wash over the top before baking might be interesting as well.  Yum!

There are also the flat buns that have become popular lately?  I think I might try to use this recipe to see if I can make my own flat burger buns as well.  I bet I can do it.  Simply roll out the dough and don’t let it rise as long, kind of like the pita bread, but a little different.

What do you think?

Recipe

1 1/4 C Milk

1/3 C Vegetable Oil

1/4 C Sugar

1 tsp salt

3 3/4 C Flour

2 1/4 tsp yeast

Place all the ingredients into the bread machine and put onto the dough cycle or, if doing by hand, into a bowl and knead

Remove the dough from machine and cut into equal pieces: 8 for hamburger, 12 for hot dogs

Turn oven to warm

Shape the dough and place on baking sheet

Turn the oven off and place buns inside to rise for 45 minutes

Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes until tops are golden brown

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

