Skip to content

Sour Cream and Vanilla Bread

June 14, 2010

I make bread every weekend.  I try and make two loaves for the entire week, but occasionally I only make one. I also usually try and surprise my husband with different kinds and let him guess what it is…or just enjoy it. 

This weekend I decided to do something different; I narrowed it down to a few and asked him which two he would like me to make.  I was surprised when this was one of his choices.  I mean, seriously?  On the surface, just thinking about it real quick, does “Sour cream and vanilla” really sound good as a bread?

Oh, it is!

If you cut this into 10 slices, it’s 4 WW points a slice, if just depends on how thick or thin you slice it.

Tools:

Bread machine

Measuring cups

(note: if you don’t have a bread machine, that’s okay.  Just mix the ingredients, knead, let it rest for a couple hours, knead some more, rest until double it’s size, then bake)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup WATER

1 Tablespoon VANILLA EXTRACT

1/3 cup SOUR CREAM

1 EGG

1 Tablespoon BUTTER or MARGARINE

3 cups FLOUR (you can use all-purpose, but I usually prefer bread flour for my breads, it just adds a bit more)

3 Tablespoons SUGAR

1 1/4 teaspoons SALT

2 teaspoons ACTIVE DRY YEAST (or just use a packet)

Directions:

Throw it all in the machine and set it.  I like to set it on light crust, but that’s just my preference.

I didn’t think there would be enough water in this recipe and hovered over it a bit at the beginning making sure that the dough formed well enough, as you can see it did.

For some reason, this cake rose a whole lot!  I almost thought I was going to have another chocolate bread catastrophe on my hands, but I let it be and I’m glad I did:

  As you can see, it came WAY up!  Actually, that little bit at the top where the crust is broken is because it actually hit the top window of the machine while it baked.  But it turned out so beautiful:

 I mean, look at this:

It took a bit of work getting it OUT of the machine, not sure why; but once I got it out…yum!

My Comments:

This bread was EXTREMELY soft.  I mean, the crust is good and firm, but just touching this bread it’s like a pillow!  No, scratch that, it’s like a cloud!  Seriously soft!

That makes it difficult to cut because as you are cutting it wants to smoosh down.  When you try and butter it, it kind of bunches it up so I would highly suggest, if you want to butter it, to toast it first.  but well worth it!

Recipe:

1/2 cup WATER

1 Tablespoon VANILLA EXTRACT

1/3 cup SOUR CREAM

1 EGG

1 Tablespoon BUTTER or MARGARINE

3 cups FLOUR (you can use all-purpose, but I usually prefer bread flour for my breads, it just adds a bit more)

3 Tablespoons SUGAR

1 1/4 teaspoons SALT

2 teaspoons ACTIVE DRY YEAST (or just use a packet)

Directions:

Throw it in the machine and turn it on!

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

