Skip to content

Homemade Mayonnaise

July 5, 2010

Okay, the other day I gave you the recipe for Miracle Whip.  Te be fair and equal, today I am going to give you the recipe for Mayonnaise.  I mean, seriously, it’s only fair, right?  PLUS, I am partial to Mayonnaise.  Although you can make this with a blender in the same way as the Miracle Whip, I decided to try and do this my hand…well, whisk.  I mean, seriously, I don’t think I could incorporate enough air or whatever in there if I just used my fingers…HA!

What?  Leave the jokes to the professionals?  Well, if I left everything to the professionals I wouldn’t even be able to give you these awesome recipes…I am by far not a professional in any way…now, I give you homemade mayonnaise…

…without pictures.  Sorry, folks, my hands were busy and really I just plum forgot the pictures, but you can really do this by hand or blender…although by hand was fun, by blender would be so much easier.

1 egg YOLK

1/2 tsp fine SALT

1/2 tsp dry MUSTARD (I didn’t have dry mustard, so I used a bit of wet mustard)

2 pinches SUGAR

2 tsp LEMON juice (fresh is best, but go ahead and use the bottled stuff.

1 TBS white wine VINEGAR

1 cup OIL (any works, but just keep in mind the different kinds will give a different flavor and quality…I’m just saying)

Directions:

Choice A (the whisking way):

In a glass bowl (make sure things are completely DRY or you’ll wonder why it turns out all watery…that goes for both the blender way and the whisking way…it’s just not pretty…I KNOW…I’ve made that mistake before)

Where was I?  Oh, yeah, in a glass bowl, whisk together the egg yolk, salt, mustard, and sugar.  whisk that stuff like crazy until well mixed.

In a separate bowl, combine the lemon juice and vinegar; then whisk HALF of that into the yolk mixture (ONLY HALF)

Now, this is where you will be busy for a while (tell everyone to leave you alone) and you will wish you had at least one extra hand…but go with it.  Start whisking like mad…like you think your arm might fall off and you think there is not way that you will ever be able to keep this up for the entire time and you think why-oh-why-did-I-think-I-could-do-this-by-hand-where’s-my-blender.  Work past it…it’ll get easier…or adrenaline hits and your arm goes numb but it still works! 

Okay, still whisking?  Keep it up!  Start adding the oil a few drops at a time…seriously, a FEW DROPS at a time until the liquid seems to thicken a lighten up a bit.  You’ll feel like you’re getting nowhere, but keep going…a FEW DROPS at a time!

Once the mixture seems to thicken and lighten up, you’re getting a good emulsion and that’s what you want!  Now, increase the oil to a THIN CONSTANT STREAM!  (Emphasis on THIN).  Keep whisking!

Once about half the oil is in there add the rest of the lemon mixture.

Now, go back to the oil (you still need to be whisking) and continue adding that to the mixture while you continue to whisk.

Once all the oil is incorporated, rest and relax your arm…you now have mayonnaise!  Let it rest for about an hour and then put it into a container with a lid and refrigerate for a while before using.

See, that wasn’t so hard, right?

Choice 2 (the blender version for you weak armed people…ha!  next time I’ll probably use the blender version…but only because I’m lazy and it’s so much faster):

Add you egg yolk, salt, mustard, and sugar to the blender and just pulse until it’s blended (goodness knows it will get a long blend in a bit, so not too much).

In a separate bowl, mix the vinegar and lemon juice.

Now, turn that blender on and add HALF the mixture to the blender (remember that awesome blender lid hole?  Yeah, use that!

Keep the blender on and add half the oil very, very, very, very S  L  O  W  L  Y!  A THIN stream!  Remember?  It should take a very long time for this process. 

Once HALF the oil is in there, add the remainder lemon mixture and then, you guessed it, back to the oil!

Again, remember SLOW! 

Once all of the oil is fully incorporated, turn off the blender and let it rest for an hour.

Then, put it into a container with a lid and refrigerate!

That’s it!  Simple, right!

My Comments:

I would just like it known that The Husband claims to be a Miracle Whip kind of lover, I would like to say that I made my potato salad with the mayonnaise and didn’t get one complaint!  Oh, and, did you notice that the beginning of Miracle Whip is pretty much the same as Mayonnaise and then you just add a bit more…think he knows that?

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

