Skip to content

Cream Cheese Bread

July 11, 2010

You know it’s good bread when The Husband asks for it before you even go to the grocery store.  That’s what happened this week.  He checked out the advertisement when I was getting ready to go to the grocery store and circled what he wanted.  He came to the cream cheese and debated it.  I said, “but honey, we really don’t use it that much when we have it.”

Then he replied, ‘If you make cream cheese bread we do.”

Well, he had me there!  So, I bought some cream cheese and this is the result.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup water
1/2 cup softened cream cheese
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 beaten egg
4
tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups bread flour
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

As always, throw it in the machine and let it do it’s thing.

My Comments

I only really have one piece of advice.  When you make this, make sure that the cream cheese is softened and the butter is melted!  I never had a problem with this bread in all the times I make it (and don’t ask how often because it’s a bit too often) and this time I skipped the melting the butter part.  I’ll never make that mistake again.  I actually had to stop the cycle and restart it with a couple TBS of hot water added to it.  It didn’t get doughy enough.

This is a very soft bread perfect for making french toast, toasting, and just snacking.  Oh, and would you look how yummy the inside looks there?

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

