Skip to content

Garlic Yeast Bread

July 12, 2010

I started this bread late at night and figured I would just take it out in the morning when I woke up…or maybe I would stay up until it was done at 12 at night even though I had to wake up at 4:30 in the morning.  I might just be that insane.

Then, the bread started rising, and warming, and then baking…OH THE SMELL!  My mouth was literally watering as this was going on.  I tried so hard to stay up because OH   MY   GOODNESS it smelled so good.

See, we have a tradition in our home that when bread comes out of the machine, I cut off the bottom slice as it is still warm, put a bit of butter on it, cut it in half, and give my husband half and me half and we talk about how good it is…

Sad to say I didn’t make it to 12 and when I got up to get breakfast, the husband was already off to work but I just couldn’t resist…I cut off that slice, toasted it and called it breakfast and pretty much died and went to heaven…I’m just saying!

Ingredients:

2/3 cup water (70 to 80 degrees F)

2 teaspoons butter or margarine, softened

1 garlic clove, minced

2 cups bread flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed

1/8 teaspoon dried thyme

1/8 teaspoon dried basil

1 3/4 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions:

Put it all in that machine and press start!  Need I say more!

My Comments:

This bread is prefect as garlic bread alongside spaghetti or any pasta dish!  It also makes a pretty mean italian type sandwich.  It was awesome and pretty quickly gone.  I will be making this often, but probably more so in the fall and winter when I have more pasta dishes.

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

