Skip to content

Cookie Dough Frozen Balls

August 13, 2010

Yes, I know it’s been a while and I know that I promised that I would be getting up and running.  You would think that being laid off I would have more time and I could sit for hours on end just writing blog posts and cooking, right?  You would think wrong!  Heck, I thought I would be able to do all that, too!  Let me tell you how disappointed I have been in not being able to do just that.

I have been saving this recipe to share with you for a while.  I made these specifically with my stepson in mind because, well, he will make a batch of cookie dough just to eat raw straight from a bowl.  His girlfriend, grandma, and mom all hate that he does that.  Me?  I totally see his point!  I mean, who wouldn’t want to eat an entire bowl of raw cookie dough?  But there is something crazy about the raw egg and salmonella and all that…these have all the yumminess of raw cookie dough AND none of the fear of gross diseases that can kill you!

Tools:

Baking sheet

Mixing Bowl

Whisk

Wooden Spoon

Small microwavable bowl or small double boiler (or a homemade version-see below)

Ingredients:

1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup Greek yogurt or applesauce or peanut butter

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips, melted for dipping

Directions:

You can do this all with a blender, but this is actually really easy to do by hand.  I am all about doing things by hand when I can just for the sheer purpose that it’s so much easier to clean up!

If your butter isn’t room temperature, pop it in the microwave on VERY LOW for about 10 seconds.  You just want it to be mashable:

  Whisk the butter until light and fluffy…then realize that you were supposed to whisk the butter AND both sugars in:

Whisk all that together until it’s light and fluffy:

Now, add the vanilla, yogurt (or peanut butter or applesauce; I used the yogurt but I’m betting that the peanut butter would be just as good…or maybe even half yogurt/half peanut butter…yum!):

You will want to use the Greek style yogurt because regular yogurt will be too thin; but remember you can make the Greek style out of any yogurt.  Mix in the yogurt, don’t worry, it’ll look like you screwed something up and will be very loose:

Sift in the flour:

Then mix well…see?  Now it doesn’t look like you screwed it all up!  It’s a nice thick dough again!  You could add more flour if you want, but it should be perfect:

Add in the chocolate chips (and nuts if you choose or any other thing you might want to add!

Fold those chips into the mix:

Once they are mixed in, start forming balls right on the baking sheet…I used parchment paper because I’m a bit paranoid that the balls won’t slip off easily, but it’s up to you:

Once you have all your balls formed (if you want more perfect balls, then just work at them a little harder, I didn’t care about looks…I knew they would be enjoyed no matter what) place the cookie sheet in the freezer.  Remember when forming your balls, you don’t have to work about them being spread out.  You won’t be baking them, so they won’t expand.  Crowd them in if you need to!

Let them freeze for two hours or more.  It won’t hurt if it’s longer, but they won’t be firm enough if you don’t let them sit long enough. 

When you are ready, melt the chocolate pieces in a small bowl.  If you are doing this in the microwave, do it for 10 seconds at a time, take it out, stir it around, put it back, and repeat until it is well melted and smooth.  For me, this takes a bit too long and sometimes the chocolate doesn’t act right, so I like to do the double boiler thing. 

Well, first, I don’t have a double boiler and SECOND it is typically too big for the amount of chocolate we need for this…so I made my own:

That is a very small sauce pan with a glass dish (almost finger bowl size) resting right on top…it worked beautifully!  Any pot with a glass bowl resting on it will work, just make sure that the bottom rests in the pot and the water doesn’t boil over!

Put the chocolate pieces in bowl:

As it starts to melt, gently stir:

Keep stirring until it is a nice smooth texture…look at that:

Melted chocolate….yum….excuse me as I go into a chocolate trance!

Now, take the dough balls out of the freezer and dip the balls in the chocolate:

Me being the short-attention-span person that I am, got a bit bored with dipping them all and so I just took the spoon and spooned the chocolate over the balls:

Over, under, the chocolate still worked:

Now….enjoy!

My Comments:

These were WAY TOO GOOD!  So not good for you and oh so yummy!  My advice?  If you make these get them out of your house as fast as possible or they will be gone…in your stomach…way too fast!

My stepson enjoyed them, I enjoyed them, my husband enjoyed them…these will be something that I will make again…for a special occasion because  I just can’t trust myself with them around!

Recipe

Ingredients

1 stick (1/2 cup or 4 ounces) unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda (i know we’re not baking them, it’s for flavor)

3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup Greek yogurt or applesauce or peanut butter

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips, melted for dipping

Directions:

In the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment (or with a large bowl and a wooden spoon) cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about three minutes in the machine.  Beat in yogurt or applesauce or peanut butter along with the vanilla extract and stir to combine.  

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Add all at once to the butter and sugar mixture and stir until incorporated.  Fold in chocolate chips and walnuts.  

Scoop large spoonfuls or ice cream scoops onto a  waxed paper lined cookie sheet.  Place in the freezer overnight or until frozen, at least three hours.

When ready to dip the balls, melt chocolate chips in a small saucepan over a low flame or in the microwave.  Remove balls from the freezer and dip into warm chocolate.  Return to the lined cookie sheet and return to the freezer to harden.  Serve cold from the freezer. 

Digg This
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 10:18 am

    Oh my…those look so yummy! Thanks for the recipe! I have a new baking blog and love new visitors if you have the time to stop by.

    • August 13, 2010 10:27 am

      Thermos for stopping by. I will definitely give yours a check out once I get home! Can’t wait! I love baking blogs! These are so good they really shouldn’t be allowed!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

