Skip to content

Oven Pancake

August 15, 2010

When I used to buy pancake mixes (I don’t buy them anymore…I make pancakes from scratch and I make biscuits and waffles and everything else that those mixes are good for from scratch…well, except for the biscuits that I buy from the refrigerated section because I’m just a bit too lazy in the morning to make biscuits, a whole other story) there was a recipe on the box for an oven baked pancake…my husband loved those!  So, this morning, I decided to try and make one of those but from scratch.  I looked online for some oven baked pancake recipes.

I cam up with so many that I don’t even know where I got this one.  Let me say, it is NOT like the one I used to make.  The one I used to make was much more dense and more cake-like; this is fluffy, light, and fun!  It was still very good!

I had it serve 2 for 9 points a serving; however, you can make it serve 4 at 4 points a serving.  There were just two of us and so we ate it all up.

Tools:

9-inch pie plate

Bowl (to mix; or just use the measuring cup that you measure the milk in…that’s what I do)

Whisk

Sifter

Measuring cup

Ingredients:

2/3 Cup FLOUR

3 Tbs SUGAR

Salt (just a dash)

2/3 Cup MILK

2 EGGS

2 Tbs BUTTER

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425

Now, you can make the batter while you wait for the oven to heat up, or you can just wait for a bit, put away the clean dishes, sit and read your emails, whatever!  I like to sit and catch up on the blogs I read…

Once the oven is heated, put the pie plate into the oven with the butter:

While that is heating up, begin mixing the rest of the ingredients.  You know me, sift that flour (it makes it airier):

Add the salt to the flour before sifting and it mixes right in:

Sift:

Add the eggs:

And take the whisk and mix:

You want to mix just until it’s smooth.  You want to be careful when mixing flour and liquids together so that the gluten doesn’t do crazy things:

   So, just until smooth and STOP!  Put it aside…that should have taken a couple minutes.  Once you start hearing sizzling sounds from the oven, you know that it’s time…but you must act FAST!  So, don’t take that pan out of the oven until you are completely ready. 

Tilt the plate around and spread the butter around…see the sizzle:

Now, quickly pour the batter into the pie plate:

All of it, see how the butter just gets pushed up to the edges…that’s good!  That means nice golden crispness:

Put it into the hot oven:

Shut the door and leave it closed for 15 minutes while magic happens:

How good does that look?  Want another look: 

Oh so good!

Cut it into 2 or 4 or however many pieces you want to share, you won’t need butter because there is plenty in there, but sprinkle it with powdered sugar, maple syrup, whatever!

You can also sprinkle other things on top…I chose to slice bananas on mine; The Husband chose bacon!

My Comments:

This was better than I set out to make and I will most definitely be making this again.  I loved the addition of fruit on the top!  It doesn’t take much work to make and is fun to open the oven door and see this poofy (what?  it’s a word!) deliciousness.

Recipe:

2/3 Cup FLOUR

3 Tbs SUGAR

Salt (just a dash)

2/3 Cup MILK

2 EGGS

2 Tbs BUTTER

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425

Place pie pan in oven with butter until the butter sizzles (2-4 minutes)

Combine all other ingredients and mix until smooth

Remove pan and tilt to coat with butter

Pour batter in the hot coated pan

Bake 14-18 minutes until puffed and golden brown

Digg This
One Comment leave one →
  1. Video Recipes permalink
    December 8, 2010 3:37 pm

    I can’t wait to try it out.

Leave a Reply

