Skip to content

Potato Salad – 4 points

August 22, 2010

I love a good old-fashioned picnic, I just love it a lot better if there were things for far fewer calories!  Well, I found this recipe for potato salad and I LOVE it!  It is really good and has all the good flavors your want in a potato salad, with far less calories!  This is a mere 4 points per 3/4 cup serving!  Hope you enjoy!

Tools:

Pot

Knife

Cutting Board

Measuring Cups/Spoons

Small bowl

Large bowl

Colander

Large Spoon

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pound POTATO

3 slices TURKEY BACON

1/4 cup reduced-calorie MAYONNAISE

2 TBS RED WINE VINEGAR

2 TBS PARSLEY

1/2 tsp table SALT

1/4 tsp black PEPPER

1/2 cup SCALLIONS chopped

Directions:

First, let it be known that I did this a bit, like I say with love, like my mom…I didn’t have bacon, so I used turkey sausage.  As I’ve mentioned before, my husband like Miracle Whip, so I used that instead of mayo.  Oh, and I didn’t have red potatoes so I used Idaho potatoes.  While these substitutions ended up not changing the points for what I added, they could so make sure you adjust for that in case you care about WW points. 

That being said, put the potatoes on to boil.  I like to have them quartered BEFORE I boil them because they cook a bit faster that way.  It’s up to you.  If you use red potatoes, they won’t take quite as long to cook.

I took my leftover sausage, and chopped that up while the potatoes were boiling: Chop up the scallions:

When chopping the scallions, cut as far up as you like.  I go all the way up the green.  If part of the green is starting to dry out or turn brown, I toss that, but I use it all!

Once the potatoes are cooked, drain them and toss in the sausage and scallions:

Now it’s time for the dressing…get your mayo and put it in a small bowl:

Add the vinegar (oops, I had white wine vinegar instead of red wine, see what I mean about substitutions):

Add the pepper:

And mix it all together:

Then, pour that over the potatoes and scallions and sausage:

Toss it together a bit gently, you don’t want the potatoes to completely come apart; although, you do want them to crumble a little, right?

Keep gently tossing, and try it out and also have your husband try it out:

Once you have it right (salt/pepper/taste) put it into a bowl that you will bring with you to the BBQ:

Find out that your husband would like a bit of mustard in there, add a squeeze of mustard, and toss again:

Now, take it to your picnic and enjoy!  

My Comments:

I really liked this the way it was, my husband, upon trying it, was missing the mustard flavor…to him, it’s not potato salad without the mustard…I added the mustard and it tasted just as good (I REFUSE to say it tasted better!).  We all enjoyed it!

What’s your favorite Potato Salad Recipe?

Recipe:

1 1/2 pound uncooked red potatoes   

3 slices uncooked turkey bacon   

1/4 cup reduced-calorie mayonnaise   

2 Tbsp red wine vinegar   

2 Tbsp parsley, fresh, chopped   

1/2 tsp table salt   

1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground   

1/2 cup scallions, chopped   

Directions:

Place whole potatoes in a large saucepan and pour in enough water to cover them; set pan over high heat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until potatoes are fork-tender, about 20 to 30 minutes; drain. When potatoes are cool enough to handle, slice each into eight pieces.

Meanwhile, cook bacon in a hot skillet or in the microwave until crisp; drain on paper towels. Break bacon into small pieces.

In a small cup, combine mayonnaise, vinegar, parsley, salt and pepper.

Transfer cut potatoes to a large bowl; add bacon and scallions.

Toss with dressing until coated.

Yields about 3/4 cup per serving.

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

