Skip to content

Pork Chop Pocket

August 24, 2010

Last week I was looking for something quick and simple and different to do with some pork chops.  I even considered the BBQ.  While thinking about that, I remembered someone had once made me some chicken in a pocket of foil on the BBQ and it was a quick and easy meal and clean up.  EVERYTHING was in the pocket and I thought, surely, there has GOT to be a recipe like that for pork chops, right?  Well, I found a really good one and I LOVED it!  So much that in a week’s time I’ve already made it twice!

The best part?  It’s only 7 WW points for one serving of EVERYTHING!

Tools:

Foil

Baking Sheet

Knife

Cutting Board

Ingredients:

Pork Chops (I used two, I would stick to two per pocket max, but I bet you could make this with one per pouch or more per pouch)

Ears of Corn (1 for each person)

Potato (I use two per person, but only because I like to have the left over for breakfast the next day)

Onion (a quarter per person)

Garlic (as much as you like!)

Salt and Pepper to taste

3 TBS Soy Sauce

3 TBS Worcestershire Sauce

1/4 Cup Water

 Directions:

Preheat oven to 375

Line your baking sheet with foil: This is really just in case and I haven’t had a problem with juices spilling out on the tray, but it’s a good safety net in case the juices to spill out.  It’s so much easier to clean up.

Now, get a larger piece of foil and place that on the tray:

It should be much longer and wider than the tray.  I have extra wide foil to this makes it easy.  If you don’t, take two pieces of foil cut the same length and then roll one edge together to make a seal and use that…unless you want to just go ahead and make individual pockets, then I guess you don’t have to do this but cut two lengths anyway, one for each pork chop.

Okay, in the middle of the BIG piece of foil, place your pork chops and then you’ll want to make a sort of well with everything so that you’ll have a place to catch all the liquid as you work:

Add some salt to the chop…but not too much, remember you’ll be adding some salty sauces later:

Add pepper:

Wash your potatoes:

Then cut them…they say “quarter” them but what they really mean is “eighth” them like so:

You want large chunks, but equal in size so they all cook pretty evenly.  Not too small or they’ll over cook…uniform in size:

  Shuck the corn (take the husk and hair off) and break the cobs in half; then place those around the pork chops: Then, around that, place the potato pieces:

Even on top of the pork is okay:

Yes I know, cross contamination, but remember this will ALL be COOKING TOGETHER!  It’s not raw vegetables next raw meat…it will be all cooked through!

Take an onion and cut it in half: Cut that half into large wedges (I cut it into six):

Then break up those wedges/layers over the pork: Now, savor for a minute, at how yummy that looks!

Add the minced garlic:

Okay, I cheated, I had minced garlic in a jar…but in my defense I got a HUGE jar of the stuff for 50 cents! 

Now, add your Soy Sauce and Worcestershire Sauces:

Confession time, I ran out of Worcestershire sauce so I just added a bit more Soy Sauce…it was still so yummy, but I bet it would be just as good or better with the other as well. Pour the sauces all over everything.  Then add water:

Just enough water to help in the steaming process.  If, as you’re adding water it looks like too much, then add a bit less.

Now is the fun part, roll up the long way across all the goodness: Then roll up the edges:

Make sure they are sealed real tight:

And now you have a delicious little package that you will get to open in about an hour:

Place in the oven for ONE HOUR!

When the hour is up, if The Husband isn’t home yet, just turn off the oven and let it sit in there, keeping warm and waiting for him…then take it out and begin peeling the foil back (be careful because it is HOT):

Bask in the glorious smells that are wafting up your way:

Then, serve: 

You’ll want to be careful as you take the pork out because it will literally fall apart as you do so.  It is THAT good and tender!

Everything has absorbed all those good tastes, the potatoes have absorbed a lot of the sauces and is oh so good!  It is just heaven in a pocket!

My Comments:

I thought this was going to be just an ordinary recipe…I thought wrong!  I have found a new favorite!  Plus, it is healthy, light and good for you too!  Something so simple is so good!  The Husband likes it, too.  The first night I made this he was having problem with his teeth hurting and, after I made it, commented that he wanted something soft to eat…well, this was definitely easy on his sore mouth as it was so juicy and tender and just fall-apart-melt-in-your-mouth good!

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Pork Chops (I used two, I would stick to two per pocket max, but I bet you could make this with one per pouch or more per pouch)

Ears of Corn (1 for each person)

Potato (I use two per person, but only because I like to have the left over for breakfast the next day)

Onion (a quarter per person)

Garlic (as much as you like!)

Salt and Pepper to taste

3 TBS Soy Sauce

3 TBS Worcestershire Sauce

1/4 Cup Water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375

Line your baking sheet with foil.  Take another larger piece of foil and lay it over the baking sheet.

Fill the foil with pork chop (seasoned with salt and pepper) and all the other ingredients.  Make sure to shuck the corn and break it in half and quarter the potatoes and onion.

Seal the foil around the ingredients making a pouch.

Place the pouch, on the baking sheet, in the oven

Cook for an hour

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

