Skip to content

Back to the Basics – Banana Thirds

August 29, 2010

banana2Okay, this isn’t really back to the basics in one way because I know for a fact that MOST people don’t know this fact about bananas.  Every time I mention this little fact to anyone, they look at me like I’m from another planet.  First, they don’t believe me…then, they wonder how in the world I ever learned this little fact…then they make fun of me for actually putting this useful fact into practice EVERY SINGLE TIME I eat a banana.

So, what is this gem of a fact?  Is it the fact that monkeys actually eat bananas from the bottom end?  Thus, when you peel from the bottom end of the banana, you immediately eliminate that little end piece that no one ever eats?  Nope, although, I DO peel my bananas from the bottom, I guess that would be an interesting banana fact that I put into practice every single time…that doesn’t quite get the same you-are-a-strange-one look this other fact always gets…

No, my interesting fact is that bananas, when split straight down the middle lengthwise, will always spit into equal thirds!  Yep, they do!

See, the first step can get a bit messy, you can try to use the handle end of a utensil, but a finger works just as well.  I used a half banana here in these pictures, but it works for a full banana as well…actually, if you peel a banana from the bottom (as the monkeys do) that little hole in the bottom actually gives you a pretty good starting point:

banana4

See how when I started, you can actually see that straight line right down the side there…that’s one of the three straight splits you will get:

banana5

Take that piece off and the other part, with a gentle push, will split right down the middle:

banana3

Then you will have three equal lengths of banana:

banana     It works!  EVERY   SINGLE    TIME!

Okay, confession time, I usually do this not with the whole banana (although I do at times) but with each bite I take.  I bite and then, with my tongue, in my mouth, where no one can see, I split the banana apart…yes, I’m that weird!

Now, how did I ever learn this little trick?  Well, I work in child care.  YEARS ago when I was working in a toddler room, someone told me this trick.  Let me tell you, bananas, whole, are a HUGE choking hazard for toddlers just learning to eat because they are the perfect roundness to block their airway.  However, split it into thirds?  Not so much anymore!

Now, you aren’t going to give a toddler just learning to eat the full third in it’s length because they’ll just shove the whole think in their mouth causing ANOTHER choking hazard.  Nope, just take those thirds and easily break off bite sized chunks!  It’s that easy!

I’m telling you, when you don’t have a knife or anything else to split a banana into pieces for a toddler, this is a lifesaver!  Try it!

What interesting facts do you know about bananas?  You know, so we can all eat bananas a bit weirder now!  No, I’d really like to know!  I love interesting facts!

Digg This
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 1:24 pm

    I used to be a kindergarten teacher & got tired of having to peel bananas for my students at lunch & recess everyday so I taught them to peel them from the bottom end and it is so much easier. They grab the bottom, slightly twist it, then its super easy to peel!

    • September 10, 2010 1:30 pm

      Hm. I never do that, I just slit it if I have a problem or use my teeth. Good idea.

      Reminds me that I also never cut it in half with a knife for kids, I will actually hold it on both hands and just snap it in half. It’s easier for them to get a starting point that way since it’s not a smooth end to try and peel.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. November 27, 2011 3:04 pm

    I always do this.

  3. Natalie permalink
    December 30, 2012 1:59 pm

    I do this all the time when I eat bananas too and I always get weird looks! When I try to explain it people just call me crazy! But I think it’s the coolest thing ever. I’m not even sure how I figured it out, I’ve just always done that. I’ll usually rip a piece off and then gently squish it until a segment comes off.

  4. August 27, 2015 1:45 pm

    OMG! I thought i was the only one who sticks my tongue into the banana (to split it into thirds) with every single bite!

  5. February 10, 2016 2:23 pm

    I love bannanas`!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. February 10, 2016 2:24 pm

    love

  7. February 10, 2016 2:25 pm

    asdewcfvtgbyh

  8. Bobby Blackstone permalink
    March 5, 2017 7:01 am

    I realized this little trick on my own about two years ago and I also do the same with every bite every time.

Leave a Reply

