Skip to content

Pumpkin Pop Tarts

October 27, 2010

photo1

Earlier this week I posted on my facebook page that I had a breakfast of a homemade Pumpkin Pop tart…little did I know what I started, everyone was commenting, emailing, and begging me to send them the recipe!  Okay, enough already!  I am sitting here, exhausted after a very long day of work that included carrying a sleeping toddler for half a mile walk with a bunch of other toddlers and preschoolers…but I will not let you down….here is the pumpkin pop tart recipe:

As is, just for the crust, it is 5 weight watchers points for 10 servings.  If you take out the minimal sugar and use egg whites only, it drops to 4 points (but you have to drop BOTH in order for it to make that change and, really, 5 points?  SO worth it!)  Make sure if you use a filling other than yummy pumpkin that might have a points value that you add that to it was well.  A simple glaze, which I will give a recipe for as well, doesn’t change the points any here.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1 TBS sugar

1 tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, cold and cut into cubes

1 large egg

2 TBS milk

1 large egg for brushing dough (but you’ll probably only use about 1/4 of it, if that)

Simply whisk the flour, sugar, and salt together then add the cut up butter and break it up using your fingers, pastry, or processor.  Work the butter in until only pea size lumps remain.  (I used my food processor for this one and it was really helpful, but use what you have).  The dough should hold together when squeezed into a ball.

In a small bowl, whisk the eggs with the milk until well beaten then add that into the flour mixture all at once.  Stir and make sure that the moisture is introduced to all the flour.

Lightly flour your countertop and knead until it all comes together.  You may need to add a bit more flour so that the dough is less sticky.  You don’t want to add too much, but it shouldn’t stick to you or the counter as you are kneading it.  It will be a light dough.

Divide the dough into two and wrap each half in plastic wrap; then put it in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. 

While it’s in the refrigerator, get your filling ready (though it probably won’t take too long if you’re adding pumpkin).

Take the dough out and roll half into a large rectangle.  You want to roll it out to 1/8 of an inch thick and then will cut it into 3×6 rectangles.  (Aim for 10, if you need to, gather the side pieces you cut off and roll those out to cut into rectangles, I’ve actually considered next time cutting them into circles with a biscuit cutter or something just to make it easier…and I’m guessing I could get more out of them).

Once half the dough is cut out, place them on a baking sheet (you may lightly grease it, you know your pans, I don’t need to grease mine) and put that sheet in the refrigerator; repeat rolling out and cutting with the second half of the dough.

Take the baking sheet out of the refrigerator and now for the fun stuff!  Brush a beaten egg on the bottom layer of dough then fill them with 1 TBS of filling…my filling of choice is obviously pumpkin, but you could use jam, jelly, or anything else…I’m actually considering banana in the next batch…slices of banana sounds so good.

Then, place the other halves.  Take a fork and seal the edges, press all around all of them, and don’t forget to put some air holes on the top as well.  Get creative and make cute pictures like hearts with the holes if you want, but you do need to make air vents so they don’t explode.  Once that is done, put them back in the refrigerator for another 30 minutes, adjust the oven rack to the top third of the oven and preheat the oven to 350.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.

While baking, if you want to make a glaze, simply mix 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 TBS milk, and a flavoring (you can use brown sugar, vanilla, maple syrup) just a splash.  I like vanilla, but I actually used a bit of brown sugar for these as it seemed to go better with it…just a bit for flavor, not much at all….like “THAT’S TOO MUCH” just thinking about it.

Once they are done baking, take them out of the oven and place on a cooling rack.  Now, my instructions were to not glaze them until they were cooled, but I found that glazing them as the cooled was much better as it spread easier and I had to use much less.

If you are using pumpkin, you could also sprinkle a bit of nutmeg while the glaze is still wet…OH EM GEE!  To die for!

So, there you have it, an amazingly awesome recipe to make your own pop-tarts…you’ll never have to buy the dry box kind again…you’ll never want to!  These are so good!

I am thinking about different ways I can mess with it for different flavors; I might just add a sprinkling of nutmeg and pumpkin in the dough next time; or, if I want to mix a bit of chocolate into it as well…oh the possibilities are endless.  How about a bit of peanut butter in the dough with those bananas in the middle?  I am so going to have fun with this recipe!

What flavor will you make?

Digg This
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:54 pm

    Oh my! How yummy! I would probably add nutella and peanut butter for that “Reeses peanut butter cup” effect. My mom used to make sandwiches for us as kids with nutella and peanut butter. They married so well together. You probably wouldn’t need the glaze … just a good sprinkling of sugar on top. 🙂

    • October 30, 2010 8:22 am

      Ooh that sounds so yummy! Nitrous and peanut butter! I may have to try that one. Key me know how it works if you try it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

