Skip to content

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

October 30, 2010

photo2

How’s my timing?  Did I miss everyone’s pumpkin seed roasting opportunity?  Or did I get a few people out there who may not have started yet and procrastinate like I do?  Either way, here’s how I roasted my pumpkin seeds and the turned out FABULOUSLY!  Perfectly crisp and not burned, and all so fabulous…want to know how?

First, when you get all those seeds out you are of course going to need to clean them.  Now, I am a very sensory oriented person and so I actually LOVE this part of the job…no, seriously, I love having my hand in all the goop. 

Once you have all those seeds out and separated, make sure to rinse them, then, place them in a bowl covered in salted water.  Don’t worry, they will all float, but make sure there is plenty of water in there.  You’ll want about 1 TBS salt to 1 CUP of water (I used 4 cups of water).  Leave them for 24 hours soaking.  If you’re like me then you won’t be able to resist mixing that water up with your hand every few hours, but don’t worry, it doesn’t hurt them in any way at all.

After 24 hours (okay, I had about 20 hours but that was fine…I had to get to work and wanted them drying all day so I could roast that night), drain the seeds and lay them out on a baking sheet to dry for 8 hours/overnight/while you are at work.  I lined my baking sheet with foil because that’s what I was going to cook them on anyway and, really, I love using foil because it makes clean up oh so easy!

Once you are back from work/wake up for the day/wait 8 hours, put them back into a bowl for a quick toss with a TBS of oil (you can add more or less as you like) 1 tsp sugar, a dash of salt, and any other seasonings you want.  Want a pumpkin pie flavor add cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger; want a spicy flavor add chili or hot sauce; the possibilities are endless.

Lay them back into the baking sheet in a single layer.  Preheat the oven to 300.

Once the oven is preheated, place the tray in the middle of the oven for 1 hour.  You want them to dry out.  If at the end of the hour they are dry but not toasted, turn the heat up to 400 for 5-10 minutes.  After about 45 minutes I started to hear popping in the oven; that’s how I knew mine were ready to come out.  I tasted one and…PERFECTION!

Oh, so good!  I love these things!

If you want to preserve more of the enzymes and good things in there, rather than cooking them for an hour, heat the oven to 150 and baked for 12-24 hours.  This way you are dehydrating them rather than cooking them; but who wants to wait that long to taste these?

What seasoning do you use on your pumpkin seeds?

Digg This
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

