Skip to content

Honeydew Melon Shake/Smoothie

November 1, 2010

photo3Okay, before you turn away…stay around and listen!  I didn’t think this was going to be a successful shake/smoothie/whatever at all!  I thought I would make this concoction and end up tossing it down the drain…little did I know what I have actually created!

This is so simple, so delicious, so yummy, and it has a secret ingredient…and no, the secret ingredient isn’t honeydew melon…follow me into something new and great…

This is so simple and is only 2 points per serving and serves 2 (but you may not want to share).

Simply throw in 1 cup of honeydew melon into a blender and turn it on until it’s all chopped/liquefied.

Dump in a bowlful of ice (I didn’t measure, sorry, just a whole bunch to make an icy mess.  Chop that all up.

Pour in a cup of milk…blend it all up:

photo1 Add more ice if you like, then, add the secret ingredient…are you ready?  The secret ingredient is….SALT!

No kidding!  No, where are you going?  Come back!  Don’t knock it ‘til you try it!  Go ahead, put a couple dashes of salt in there and blend it all up, then pour it into a glass:

photo2  See that frothy, smoothie, yumminess?  Take a taste!  You’ll be amazed at the way the salt makes the flavors just pop!

So simple!  So easy! So GOOD!  And VERY filling!

Now, I was going for healthy and so went the more smoothie than shake way…but I bet this would be to DIE for if you used vanilla ice cream.  Go ahead and try and then come back and let me know how it tastes!

Show of hands, now that you’ve read this, how many of you are actually going to try it out?

Digg This
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:32 pm

    I’m going to try this, because it sounds like something my Mom would have liked. And usually when my Mom liked something like this, then I did too. Def, sounds interesting.

  2. tammy permalink
    March 16, 2012 2:31 am

    I made just now it was yummmmmyyy. You are right it is actually quite filling. So simple and so good, my siblings liked it too. I used milk tomorrow I will use ice cream. So nice on a hot day. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

