Skip to content

Broccoli Poppers

June 8, 2011

This is a recipe that is super fast and easy.  It’s great as a side dish or just to snack on!  Just pop these in the oven and put them in a bowl instead of chips?  You’re in for a treat!
Tools:
Knife
Baking sheet or dish
Ingredients:
1 head of broccoli
Olive Oil
Salt
Seasoning
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400
Take you head of broccoli and begin cutting.  Really, the cutting is the art in this dish.  Let me show you how I do it:
I cut lengthwise.  Find a tree branch and run the knife down from that:
Continue this until you have a bunch of trees that look like this:
Then, cut the ‘trunk’ of the tree right at the base:
Oh, and don’t mind me calling these trees, come on!  I work in preschool!  What else would you call them?
Now those ‘trunks’ are edible!  DON’T THROW THEM OUT!!!  Just dice them up and put them into baking dish:

Go back to those trees:
Let’s admire the forest for a bit, shall we?
  Those trees that are bit size already, just toss those right on top of the chopped up trunks.  This one’s good:
As is this one:
Oh, these are perfect!
This one?
Not so much.  However, we just need to cut it in half:
Okay, maybe quarters:
This will not do:
Chop that sucker up into many pieces!
Once all the trees have been chopped up (huh, kind of sounds a bit like deforestation, doesn’t it?  Hope I didn’t kill off any endangered animals…oops) there will be some leftover pieces:
Just sweep those right into the dish as well:
I really don’t like to waste any of my broccoli.  I LOVE broccoli!  Every   last   bit!
Now, sprinkle some olive oil right over the top:
Add some salt, to taste, I like salt as well:
Then seasoning.  This time I used Garlic Powder…who am I kidding.  I usually use garlic powder, but you could spice it up with chili powder or anything else:
 
Then, gently toss to coat all the pieces:
Try to restrain yourself from snacking on that…it will be so much better out of the oven: Put into your preheated oven:
And wait for about 10 minutes.  It will look like this:
Do you see the tops of those trees:



They’re a bit brown and crunchy.  THAT’S what makes this dish worth it all!  That crunchy, infused flavor!
MM!
My Comments:
This is a very quick recipe and so delicious.  I’m not sure exactly where I first got the idea, but I pretty much read something about baking broccoli and cauliflower (which this is perfect for as well), got an idea, tossed some ingredients together, and baked!  Turned out delicious and now I can’t get enough!
What’s your favorite way to cook broccoli?
Recipe:
1 head of broccoli
Olive Oil
Salt
Seasoning
Preheat oven to 400
Chops broccoli into bite sized pieces
Toss with olive oil, salt, and seasonings
Bake for 7-10 minutes until tops of broccoli are crispy brown
Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a comment